

A HISTORY OF MAVERICK CURLING CLUB

In the late 1950's when the Petroleum Curling Club was contemplating reorganization and expansion our club's founding members decided to break off and form their own league: hence the name MAVERICK Curling Club. Although records and memories are suspect those individuals are believed to be Bill Blakely, Ken Jackson, Earl Lawrence, Stan Williams and John Zedde.

Operations began in October 1959 at the Calgary Curling Club and have continued there every year except 1976/77 when the Calgary Curling club was being rebuilt following a fire. That year the Maverick curled at the Westwind's Curling Club. Apart from in-house leagues at various curling clubs, the Maverick is among the oldest continuously run curling clubs in Calgary.

For many years prior to the Calgary Curling Club obtaining a liquor license, our club ran it's own bar in the green concrete basement of the rink. Profits from the bar went to _ lessen yearly dues and the wind-up party. Old-timers may consider those to be the good old days but many of them should not have been driving home after the longer sessions. In fact although names are conveniently lost to memory there were occasions when some members were compelled to "sleep it off" in that cold basement before heading home the next day.

Many of our members or former members have achieved significant success outside the Maverick Nick Lashuk, Ray Tull and Murray MacDonald have distinguished themselves at the provincial or national levels. Many others have done well in the Alberta Oilmen's and Doodlespiel over the years. Most recently Cliff Butchko and Cliff Lundell have won events in the Oilmen's. While the Doodlespiel in Banff has seen its share of Maverick winners. Jim Hume won the initial Doodlespiel in 1973 and the 25th Doodlespiel in 1997. Randy Gill, Michael Langlois, Wade Brillon, Warner Louen, Bob Won and Barry Johnson were all recent event winners.

In 1999 the Maverick was represented on every winning rink at the Doodlespiel. Michael Langlois was on the "A" winner, Dick Luten was on "B". Arnold Aylesworth, Jim Wasilenkoff, Brian Montgomery and Ken Brillon won "C" and Danny MacDonald, Gord Cope, Mike Young and Todd Stafford won "D".

From the late 1900's until the mid-1990's the Maverick was capably run by Bob Penfield, Ron MacDonald and Corby Hart. The wind-up parties catered by these fine chefs will long be remembered for the great roast beef and baked beans. Currently the club is being well-managed by Arnold Aylesworth and Ken Brillon. To these five gentlemen the club is much indebted.

The club has historically curled with sixteen teams in two divisions "A" & "B". This year we are trying a round-robin format with each team playing all other teams once. The team accumulating the most points during the regular season will be declared as Club Champion. Playoffs will be held with a format that yields "A" & "B" winners. There are few strict rules in the club but there is one that says a team cannot win more than one trophy. After all this is purely a fun league. From the mid 1970's to the mid 1990's the Burned Brick trophy was awarded to the individual selected for his outstanding inconsistency in shot making, lousy sweeping and general suspect conduct both on and off the ice during the season. The magnificent brick centerpiece of this trophy was salvaged from the original Calgary Curling Club that burned to the ground on the night of October 13, 1976. It has since been lost and therefore is no longer presented.

In recent years we have mourned the loss of several long-time club curlers. These include Bob Penfield, Bob Won, Ron Richardson and Oebel Pasveer. The club has a long history with perhaps only a half dozen teams that have completely quit the club. This closeness is reflected in long-term but friendly rivalries among teams, and a sharing of interests and banter in the post-game equivalent of golf's nineteenth hole.

Current members who have curled in the league for twenty-five or more years include George Grant, Barry Johnson, Larry Miskew, Bob Parle, Ed Saskundiak and Bob Stanich.

We wish to thank the Calgary Curling Club for it's co-operation with the Maverick over four decades. We appreciate the "world class" facilities provided by Gary Pepper and his able staff and eagerly look forward to many more Friday nights of friendly curling rivalries and post-mortem comradery...

